Joshua 3: Crossing The Jordan

Sometimes the Bible is the king of understatements.

We’ve been building up to the events of Joshua 3 for a LONG TIME. It has been the major narrative focus ever since they crossed the Red Sea (speaking of that, what is it with these people and crossing through water?).

And how much space is devoted to it? Here, let me show you.

Then the people crossed over opposite Jericho. While all Israel were crossing over on dry ground, the priests who bore the ark of the covenant of the Lord stood on dry ground in the middle of the Jordan, until the entire nation finished crossing over the Jordan.

That’s it. I almost just included the first sentence, but to be fair, they are still crossing in the second.

Here’s what I don’t understand: When the tribes brought their gifts for the Tabernacle, it was 80 verses of the exact same thing over and over and over again.

But now, as Israel finally enters the Promised Land, the writers could only spare two sentences?

Priorities, people!!! Come On!

Fine Speech

Every great leader needs a great speech. We call these, “Braveheart Moments,” or, “Gladiator Moments,” or “Aragorn Moments,” or “Oscar Clips.”

Here is Joshua’s. Again, pretty understated, but awesome nonetheless.

Sanctify yourselves: for tomorrow the LORD will do wonders among you. For tonight, we dine in HELL*!!”

* not actually in the speech.

I like that speech. It gives me hope. It makes me want to get out of bed. It makes me expectant.

Something amazing is going to happen and I get to be a part of it!

I want to inspire people like that.

Sometimes You Gotta Get Your Feet Wet

Crossing a river is a difficult business. Ask anyone who as played “The Oregon Trail.” (BTW, it’s pronounced “ORY-GUN”)

And the people have a lot of cattle. They wouldn’t want their oxen to drown now would they?

The solution to this problem is that God will stop the river long enough for the people to cross. And this is no small feat because the river is flooded this time of year. But in order for this to happen, the priests, carrying a large, heavy gold box, must first wade in the water . . . children.

They have to step into a flooded river before they know God will stop its flow.

That is called faith, my friends.

You can’t always be sure something will happen before you decide to trust God. You trust first. Then the thing he promised happens.

Faith means you get your feet wet.

Where is God inviting you to get your feet wet? Where is he inviting you into a deeper (nice word!) life of faith?

7 responses

  1. We’re preparing to move into a new home in a new neighborhood, and it’s not upper (or even really middle) class. It’s comfortable to me, because it’s similar to the neighborhood I grew up in, but it will require that I start learning about and relating to people who are of a different culture than mine. I’m going to have to get my cultural self “wet” in order to truly love my immediate neighbors.

  2. That is a great question. I have finally kind of figures out what my blog is, so what is the next step? What is the leap of faith I need to take? I feel like I’m approaching a Jordan. I just don’t know what is is exactly.

  3. I’ve been reflecting on this a lot over the past few days, and I love the imagery of getting your feet wet first. Often I find we play “I’ll show you my cards if you show me yours first” with those around us (and God) – to test if they’re really “in.”

    “Oh, are you really my friend? I’ll believe it when I see ‘it’ happen” as if we’re judges others need to appease. But the problem is God has already given us that ‘it’ – that reason to trust, which is Jesus. So it really is our turn to get our feet wet. It’s our turn to prove something – prove what’s in our hearts, show that trust. This has been more than convicting for me… it’s also been inspiring. Thanks for sharing!

    Also, I love the opening line. King of understatements. Haha! Too true.

  4. Pingback: Reaching Out

Leave a Reply

