Genesis 3: Trouble In Paradise

I was really hoping to write immediately after doing my study today but wordpress was having a fit. My hope was to have everything fresh in my mind grapes but alas, it was not to be. So now is my attempt at remembering.

Remembering. I wonder if that will become important in this adventure?

So Genesis 3 is where it all falls apart. And before I dive in I want to make ANOTHER correction. Not sure how I let this slip by but yesterday when I said the word for God was different in Genesis 2, I was only partly right. It is like the writers added a word to God in Genesis 2. He is now YHWH Elohim instead of just Elohim (Except when the serpent and the woman have a little chat. I wonder why that is).

So I am three posts in and have had to make 2 corrections. If anything this will be a lesson in humility.

On to some thoughts! Hooray!

Figs and Fur

When the man and woman realize they are naked they make coverings out of fig leaves. I can’t imagine that this was very a) comfortable and b) effective. When God notices they are naked he makes clothes out of skins. I can only hope they were from animals. This means I have to add one more thing to my list of cool stuff God does in Genesis: fashion design.

Is that too light hearted for Genesis 3? Maybe.

But the fact is his clothes are way better. He is better at covering us than we are. He is also willing to pay a higher cost to cover us. We pull leaves off a tree. He kills something. Maybe we don’t have the stomach to do that yet. What are the ways I try to cover myself? How might God want to show me a better way that involves trusting him to provide?

Curses!

You were supposed to read that like some old-timey villain who just had his diabolical plot foiled by Dudley Do-Right.

So in the imfamous passage about the curses, I notice that only two things are actually cursed: The serpent and the ground. Does that mean that the blessing from Genesis 1 still applies?

I have heard that the things God says are just the consequences for the disobedience of the man and woman. But it is hard to get around God saying “I will greatly increase your pangs in childbearing.” That sounds like he does it. He makes the woman feel intense pain before she can feel the joy of having a child. Pain and suffering before joy. hmmm. Also, though it causes her great pain, she still has a desire for the one who gets her pregnant. I had never thought of it that way before. It is an interesting little tension.

“Keep Away From the Trees!”

If you can name that movie, I will give you a dollar.

So God doesn’t want us to eat from the tree of life after we ate from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil. That, he says, would cause us to live forever. Does God not want us to live forever in this new messed up state we are in? I can see how that would be a problem. Imagine what we might be capable of. Imagine the injustice we could perpetuate. Does that mean that death is actually a grace to us and to the world to keep it from getting more messed up than it already is?

Because that seems super intense. That is a brutal grace.

Getting ready for it to get way worse in chapter 4.

Again, if you have thoughts to add, feel free to leave a comment. You are also welcome to join me on this crazy thing whenever you want. Shalom my friends!

4 responses

Leave a Reply

