Genesis 24: The First Love . . . Story.

Let me just say that Genesis 24 was like a breath of fresh air. Things were starting to get heavy. In the last five chapters we have had Sodom and Gomorrah, Lot’s daughters, Ishmael drama, the sacrifice of Isaac, and Sarah’s death. Genesis was starting to be a real downer!

And then we hit chapter 24 where nothing bad happens. Ahhhhhhhh. What we do have is a good old-fashioned (and I do mean old) love story.

Nicholas Sparks would be proud.

But I bet you didnt cry nearly as much reading Genesis.

Abraham wants to find a wife for Isaac. He sends his servant back to his homeland to find one belonging to his kin. The servant is successful in his quest and brings back the lovely Rebekah for Isaac to marry.

It really is a nice story.

If You Are Going to do something, Do it Right!

One of the things I loved about this chapter was how everything was done right. There was no cheating or swindling or tricking or general tom-foolery of any kind.

  • Abraham’s servant makes an oath and he holds to it.
  • The characters trust and worship God.
  • Laban’s family shows excellent hospitality to the servant.
  • Appropriate protocols (the dowry) are observed.
  • There is a lot of blessing and steadfast love thrown around. Always a good thing.
  • Rebekah is even given a choice of when she wants to leave.

The result of all this is a wonderful sense of anticipation, love between a newly-wed couple, and comfort in the midst of grief. That all sounds pretty good to me. Even though my own culture is very different, I can appreciate the “romance” of the story.

My Own Story

If you all wouldn’t mind, I’d like to take this opportunity to share my own engagement story (to this girl) because, honestly, it is a pretty stinkin’ good story and this feels like a great time to do it.

It begins with a brief friendship six years ago followed by about five years of zero contact. I lived in Oregon and she lived in St. Louis.

Then at Urbana 09, we ran into each other and started to talk. She was leading a Bible Study a few doors down from the one I was helping to lead. I wanted to see how hers was going but realized if I wanted to talk to her, I would have to wait for her to finish. And if I waited I would be communicating to her that I was interested. So I had to decide if I was interested.

I was.

So we talked and hit it off. We decided to stay in touch after the conference. We sent multiple emails a day and started talking on skype each week. One of those conversations lasted just shy of eight hours. I am pretty proud of that.

We began making trips across the country to visit each other. Each time we learned more and more about the other person and began to like the other person more and more.

Almost a year after we met, I told her I loved her. You can read about what I meant by it here.

Two weeks ago we ran the St. Louis Half-Marathon together. It was the hardest thing I have ever done. But she kept me going. She looked into my eyes and exhorted me to keep running towards the goal. She knew I was capable of more than I thought I was and wouldn’t let me settle.

We finished the race together.

And ten feet from the finish line, I asked her to marry me.

We are attempting to "veil" our faces like Rebekah did.

She said yes.

Let’s Get to Know Each Other

So I have been at this blog for almost a month. It has been a fun journey but we have a long way to go.

I’d love to know who I am traveling with.

So leave a comment. Introduce yourself. What would you like to see more of on this blog?

Let’s get to know each other.

3 responses

  1. I’m surprised that nobody jumped at the opportunity to introduce themselves here. My name’s Merwyn, and I found you thanks to Fred Clarke’s recent link. I’m interested in this challenge, and it helps you’re easier to read than Matthew Henry.

Leave a Reply

