Genesis 45: What’s REALLY Been Going On

This is a picture I took of hope and redemption.

You may recall that yesterday I was, as Queen put it so elegantly, “hanging on the edge of my seat-ah” about what was going to happen next in Joseph’s story. And Genesis 45 did not disappoint.

As I read Joseph’s response to Judah’s plea, I was deeply moved. But in an “I can’t move because I am so moved” kind of way.

It’s All About Perspective

Before I say anything more, I would just like to quote Joseph as he was talking to his brothers.

‘I am your brother Joseph, whom you sold into Egypt. And now do not be distressed, or angry with yourselves, because you sold me here; for God sent me before you to preserve life. For the famine has been in the land these two years; and there are five more years in which there will be neither ploughing nor harvest. God sent me before you to preserve for you a remnant on earth, and to keep alive for you many survivors. So it was not you who sent me here, but God; he has made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house and ruler over all the land of Egypt.

Wow. Just. Wow.

It’s as if Joseph is saying “the last 20 years have been an elaborate plan for the salvation of our entire family.

Yes, you may have considered killing me. Yes, you may have sold me into slavery and faked my death. Yes, I have every right to use my power to destroy you.

But I won’t.

Why? Because that isn’t what the God who has been with me all these years is like. That isn’t what he does. That’s not how he rolls.

He redeemed my life so that I could save yours.

He let me go through suffering so that I could bring you life and prosperity.

God has been up to something much bigger than any of us realized until this very moment.”

I’m Just Going to Leave It At That

Honestly, I am left feeling a bit speechless. I’m in awe of Joseph and in awe of God. So I will let my words be few. I feel like I read that somewhere . . .

What was something hard you went through that God turned into something good?

Leave a Reply

