Genesis 46: Introducing The Israelites!

I am getting down to the home stretch of Genesis! Only four chapters left after this one. Then I will only have 65 more books to go through! Hooray!

Genesis 46 could be described as the “Exodus to Egypt.” Jacob (Israel) takes his whole family on a vacation to the Pyramid Paradise and has an emotional reunion with his long lost son.

Jacob Has Another Dream

What is it with this guy? Dreams and “visions of the night?” Ok, I’ll admit, that second one sounds pretty cool. Band name anyone?

But God meets him at a place of great significance for his father and reminds him of the promise. God has been faithful for three generations and will continue to be so. Jacob can now close out his days in peace and comfort knowing his family is going to be okay.

Superlatives!

Wait. Do you smell it? Sniff sniff.  I am catching the aroma of a long list of names! And what better way to celebrate the arrival of the people who will shape this story for years to come by making fun of them!

Most Likely to Be Confused With A Character From “The Lion King”: Puvah. Not in front of the kids!

Best Pirate Name: Ard. I mean, come on! Aaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrd! I think I might start a pirate crew with the names I’ve found. Captain Peleg has a first mate! Yeeaaaarrrhhh!

Most Likely to Become a Shady Investment and/or Oil Company: Shimron. Hold on to your pensions, people!

Most Unfortunate Duo: Muppim and Huppim. They sound like muppets.

Rhymes with “Ferrari”: Merari. You just know this kid was hot stuff.

My filthy car

But he probably drives this around . . . ironically. photo © 2006 Franco | more info (via: Wylio)

All In The Details

When Jacob and Joseph are reunited, we are told that Joseph “presented himself to him, fell on his neck, and wept on his neck for a good while.

That “good while” part might slip by you if you aren’t careful. But it is a detail that adds so much emotion to the story. Joseph and Jacob just stood there crying.

Time didn’t matter.

The other people didn’t matter.

All that mattered was a father and son seeing each other for the first time in decades.

He was dead and is alive again. He was lost and is found.

5 responses

  1. Hey Ben, Love the humor and this : “But God meets him at a place of great significance for his father and reminds him of the promise. God has been faithful for three generations and will continue to be so.”

    Great blog man!

  2. Thanks for your ‘best of’s’ names posts! I have such a hard time getting thru those chapters but I journey on because I know you’ll post something hilarious to remind me that it was worth it!

    • I have found that when I take a little more time with those chapters, I end up enjoying them. The names people get are super interesting. And I am always happy to help people keep reading!

Leave a Reply

