Exodus 10: Pharaoh’s Future

Today’s guest post is by my fabulous, lovely, witty, gorgeous, crazy smart and all around freaking awesome fiance, Andrea Garner. She blogs over at Redeeming Domesticity. So read this and then go over there and say hi.

Bonus points if you try to convince her to join twitter.

________________

When Ben asked me if I wanted to do a post about Exodus 10, I believe my response was something like, “Sure! Wait. What are the plagues in that one?”

“Locusts and darkness,” he replied.

Perfect! Could it be that I was predestined to blog about this very chapter? Bugs and the dark are two of my favorite things ever!

Except that is not actually true. I am in no way a fan of insects. And I tolerate darkness.

More specifically, I have limited experience with locusts, and by limited I mean that I’ve never encountered a real one.

One time – way back in 2009 – I went to a Halloween party dressed as John the Baptist. Don’t ask why. I just wanted to. I also wanted to use plastic locusts as part of my ensemble since they constituted a large part of John’s diet.

No party is complete without a prophet. I'm available for your next corporate event, wedding or Bar Mitzvah.

Apparently, plastic locusts are not in high demand because I couldn’t find any. 

That was the one time I really wanted to become better acquainted with locusts…fake ones.

I have more experience with darkness.

Aww, what the heck? Let’s talk about locusts some more!

Who Holds the Future?

The locusts ride in on the east wind and proceed to devour every living plant particle in sight, leaving Egypt barren. No green, no trees and no plants. Zip. Zilch. Nada.

Not quite a plague of locusts, but St. Louis has recently been inundated with cicadas.

Images of a landscape devoid of vegetation – something like the Dust Bowl of the 30s – immediately come to mind.

But I also find myself wondering if we’re supposed to connect that image to something that shows up earlier in the chapter.

 In v. 1 God tells Moses that He is hardening Pharaoh’s heart so that He can continue to perform signs, “and that you may tell your children and grandchildren how I have made fools of the Egyptians.”

The ‘children and grandchildren’ bit that caught my attention.

Referring to future generations hearing the story of how He dealt with the Egyptians implies that God’s people have, well, a future to look forward to.

 And that is really good news!

Fast forward several verses and the future generation thing shows up again. In v. 9 Moses tells Pharaoh that all of the people will go to worship the Lord – young and old, sons and daughters. 
Pharaoh is not having any of it and says, “The Lord indeed will be with you, if ever I let your little ones go with you!”

Little ones.

They are the future and Pharaoh is not interested in giving up control of that. And so God responds with locusts that leave Egypt looking barren.

It’s a grim picture of the lack of a future that awaits Pharaoh.

4 responses

  1. Great post and I love the pic! Oh…and don’t fall into the Twitter thing. Facebook is the Black Hole of the Internet. Twitter is an even bigger consumer of time. (Sorry Ben.)

Leave a Reply

