Exodus 33: As A Man Speaks With His Friend

Moses, I gotta hand it to ya, the tent looks great. Was I right about Bezalel or was I RIGHT?

Yeah, he did a nice job. Listen, there is something I want to talk to you about . . .

About what I said the other day?

Yes. The people found it to be quite distressing.

Look, they broke the covenant. Big Time. I’m not just going to forget that.

Are you sure?

Yes. And because of it, I’m not going. But I promised Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob that I would lead their descendants to a good land flowing with milk and honey. I intend to keep it. I just won’t be there with them.

Really?

Yes. You are on your own. And you really should get going if you want to avoid the crummy weather.

Here’s the thing LORD: you told me to bring the people to that land and I would love to see that happen, but I don’t want to do it by myself. You haven’t even shown me who is going with me.

You say that you know me. You even say that you like me. Well, if that’s true then would you please let me know you? Show me more of what you are like! Heck, show all of us what you are like! We are your people. Remember?

I do remember. I did make a covenant with them. I did say that they would be my people . . . 

Very well. I will go with you and I will give you rest.

Thank you. Because if you don’t go with us we don’t want to go. You are pretty much the only thing we have going for us. Otherwise we are just a bunch of wandering runaways.

I like you Moses. And you are right. I do know you. Very well in fact.

Then show me your glory. Please.

Very well. Because I like you. But know this: I decide who to be gracious to, not you. And I decide who to be merciful to, not you. And though I will pass by, you can’t see my face. No one can, at least not if they want to survive the experience.

I’ll tell you what, when I pass by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand. Then I’ll uncover it and you can look at my butt.

Really? Wow. Thanks.

4 responses

  1. And we re still beholding His b….ack. (You probably thought I was gonna say butt didn’t ya?
    Some of us are still as disobedient as Israel was back then, but with the attitude that we ARE obedient!

Leave a Reply

