Leviticus 7: Eat Up!

I don’t know how your weekend was. And that is a good thing. Because if I DID know, that would mean I had all kinds of ways to spy on you. And let’s face it, you don’t want me to do that and I don’t want that kind of awesome power.

But my weekend involved flying to Chicago, staying the night on a futon that was threatening to tip over (yes, you read that right) at any moment, doing a day-long audition, flying back to Portland that evening, hearing a Tom Petty song performed by my church worship team, watching both Kung Fu Panda movies (the second one was better), and beginning to pack up my stuff to move into a new apartment.

So I’m a bit tired.

But I am not hungry.

Which, oddly enough, is something I share in common with the Levitical priests.

Aaron’s Well-Fed Sons

Leviticus is full of repeated themes. Don’t believe me? Read the first seven chapters. I dare you.

There are actually several of those themes that I really want to write about but Leviticus 7 provided the perfect opportunity to write about one that may have slipped under the radar.

“Every male among the priests shall eat of it; it shall be eaten in a holy place; it is most holy.”

If I am reading and understanding this correctly, Aaron and his sons are basically getting a never ending stream of meat and grain take-out delivered straight to their house.

And they have to eat it. Or they get to eat it. I’m not really sure which.

Either way, those cats are going to have nice round pwompable tummies.

Please Feed the Priests

It would seem that God wants to make sure the Priests get enough food. Judging by the sheer amount of offerings and sacrifices being made by the Israelites, that shouldn’t be a problem. Notice how God describes the parts that belong to the priests back in chapter 2:

“And what is left of the grain-offering shall be for Aaron and his sons; it is a most holy part of the offerings by fire to the Lord.”

The part that belongs to the priest is a most holy part. It is special. It is unique. It is important.

When you bring a bull for a sacrifice, many of the parts you burn on the altar are inedible. But some of the more delicious parts are saved for the priests to eat.

Let it never be said that Levitical priests had iron deficiencies.

So God takes the crummy parts and leaves the priests with the best stuff.

Not bad at all, for the priest.

Not the Bull.

So the next time you are at a BBQ, make sure you drop some knowledge on the people you are with that you are participating in a holy ritual that is thousands of years old.

Ok, in honor of the end of summer, what was the best BBQ you had?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

