Joshua 14: The Return of Caleb

Remember Caleb?

He was that guy from Numbers 13 who, along with Joshua, didn’t chicken out on his spy mission. It’s been a long time since we last saw him, but that doesn’t mean he hasn’t been up to awesome things.

Now, I’m not sure exactly what it was he has been up to, but I will use the information given to me to extrapolate the activities with the highest probability of being of actually being what he did.

No, I didn’t understand that last sentence either. Either way, here are, in my best estimate (or “bestimate”), the things Caleb has been up to.

1: Taking Lots of Steps

And Moses swore on that day, saying ‘Surely the land on which your foot has trodden shall be an inheritance for you and your children forever.

Put yourself in Caleb’s sandals. If you received an oath like this, what would you do?

Darn right! You would make sure those feet of yours trodded on as many lands as possible! Do you know how long ago Moses made that promise?

45 years!

I don’t know about you, but these boots could do some serious walkin’ in forty-five years.

2: Hitting The Gym

I am still as strong today as I was on the day that Moses sent me; my strength no is as my strength was then, for war, and for going and coming.

Hang on. What? He is saying that forty-five years of wandering in the desert, fighting wars, and eating magic bread hasn’t aged him a day?

I’ll have what he’s having!

Israel must have an amazing gym membership program, or the greatest personal trainers the world has ever seen. I hope that by the time I am eighty-five, I can go to the bathroom by myself, let alone tromp off to war!

3: Cashing In On 45 Years of Obedience

A long long time ago, Caleb chose trust. Caleb chose faith. Caleb chose to believe that God was going to do what he said.

When 10 of his 11 other friends decided to choose and spread fear, he chose hope.

And for forty-five years he has continued to do the same. At least, that is what I guess. There is no indication that he was a rebellious guy.

But now he is cashing in. Him and his children will forever have a place to call their own. His obedience then has drastically affected his life now.

So if you are wondering if acting in obedience now is worth it, remember Caleb. Because he looks at you and nods his head.

Yes, it is.

Where is a place in your life where you are struggling to believe that obedience to God is worth it?

3 responses

  1. I see obedience to God in every single area of my life as worth it, I just have an awful time convincing this flesh to keep on steady track!! As the Word says; the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.
    What an example Caleb is.
    useless piece of info: I have a new nephew called Caleb and my Dad is now always telling everyone to look at the life of Biblical Caleb “great man” ha, dads 🙂 but I do pray he can be a great man also when he grows like his namesake

Leave a Reply

