Summer Vacation

Hi Everyone-

I wanted to fill you in on what has been happening in my life. You have probably noticed that I stalled out two chapters away from finishing Joshua.

I have decided to take the summer off.

There are several reasons for this but I will give you the most pressing ones.

1) I realize how much I actually enjoy “real life.” You know, with real people and stuff. I am happier. I see the way God uses me. I just like it more. Sometimes, reading and endless array of blogs each day actually leaves me a little on the depressed side. So I am going to hang out in IRL land for a few months.

I haven’t really checked twitter in weeks. And I’m fine with that. The world hasn’t stopped spinning. I still exist.

2) I was starting to feel like a slave. I felt like I NEEDED to write something. Not because there was something beautiful that just wanted to emerge from my fingertips, but because I had committed to this and didn’t want to let you or myself down.

I have more important commitments in my life.

3) I am NOT a writer. As the blogosphere (at least the crowd I run around in) pumps out more and more stuff about owning your identity as a writer and blogger, I find myself less and less comfortable. I don’t want my life to be run by snappy headlines or killer openers. I don’t want to worry about building a tribe or creating a brand.

I have a real life tribe. I have a wife. I have students. They need me in their lives WAY more than they need this blog.

So I am taking the summer to reevaluate some things. I don’t know if I will continue this Blog. But I may. We’ll see. It has given me a passion for the Bible. I want to know more.

But I also want to live out what I believe God is speaking to me through it. And for that to happen, maybe some things need to get left on the roadside.

So have a great summer everyone! I’ll see you back in the fall.

12 responses

  1. Ben, I hear you. I’m glad your taking some time to away to figure out how your passion for the Bible can intersect with “real life”. Your a good blogger, and maybe it’s time to be done. Maybe it’s time to change it. Maybe it’s time to take a breather.

    Part of our identity is admitting what we are not. That is valuable and good.

    Peace brother. Hope to still see you around/talk to you eve while your on vacation.

  2. Ben, I’ll miss your installments but I admit that I need to finish reading several I haven’t got to yet. Glad you are examining your priorities. It’s something we all need to do, constantly, so that we make sure our’s are aligned with His.

    Have great summer. I”ll see you at church and hope we can get coffee sometime soon.

  3. Ben, I miss the blog updates BUT real life is so much more important… as you said the ‘living out’ of what you’re learning, it’s vital!

    I hope you continue, even at a slower pace – the Word of God is under such attack and I think this blog is a breath of fresh air and helps generate an excitement to get in and read the Word and see God and see Truth in it.

    You have a talent and the fact you are not driven by headlines or followers makes you the humble and correct author of a blog such as this! honestly!

    Understand 100% though if you decide not to continue!

    Enjoy your summer, continue to learn and stretch through your practical application and just have loads of fun!! 😀

    Please accept my genuine thank you for all you have done so far and for the many ways your posts have either opened my eyes or have been a timely add on to something the Lord was teaching me right at that moment, It’s been a crazy year for me(like seriously!) and your blog has been there mostly unbeknownst to you… as a constant! God has used you! So thanks 🙂

  4. For what it’s worth, I’ve enjoyed your posts here too. You are definitely a writer because your voice authentically comes through your written words. While I’m a stickler for grammar and punctuation, I’ll take honesty honeyed with humor over correctness any day.

    And this is a great line: “I have a real life tribe.” I would do well to remember that each day too.

    Now, don’t respond to this comment until you’ve taken as much time away from this space as you need.

  5. I’m glad to read someone else who is a little uneasy with some of the culture in the blogosphere right now. There is definitely much that is useful to be learned from all the talk about tribes and platforms and other writer-y things. Many seem to be building platforms and tribes with God honouring results. But, sometimes I feel like a bit of a failure for not doing all the right things to build my platform online. I’ve realised ultimately what I’m meant to be doing is reaching out to people and building people up. Sometimes that means focusing on my blog. But, sometimes that means investing my creative energies in planning and running ministry programs. Sometimes that means spending spare evenings sitting with my housemates talking about life and faith rather than shutting myself in my room writing. If my blog stats suffer as a result I have to make peace with that because stats should never be the end goal.

  6. You’ve gotta do what you’ve gotta do. I’ve found this blog to be a blessing, and I selfishly hope you’ll continue, but everything you say in your post is true – sometimes other stuff is more important.

    (Of course, blogging can be important too, it’s just a matter of figuring out if that’s what God wants you to do.)

    I’ve been going through a rough patch with my blogs recently – life is busy and more important things have taken priority – so I sympathise. Just know that all that you’ve written here has helped a lot of people, and even if you decide to stop, it was worthwhile blogging for a season because of that.

  7. I wondered where you had been, Ben. Out living life, I see. As they say Down Under, “Good on you, mate!”

    It was a pleasure to have met you, and like the others here I do hope you continue in some form.

    Many blessings! See you around the kingdom!

Leave a Reply

