Joshua 23: A Long Time Afterward . . .

A long time afterward, when the LORD had given rest to Israel from all their enemies all around . . .

Every so often strange coincidences make you pause. You wonder to yourself, “did that really just happen? Did I really just read that?”

Yes, I did.

These are the first words of Joshua 23 and this is exactly how I feel.

It’s been a long time, hasn’t it? And my friends, I have had rest. I have had some time to stop and think.

The battles are over. The enemies have fled. Joshua is old. But he is still the leader of his people. They still look to him. They still need a shepherd to guide them to good pasture in their new land.

So Joshua reminds them of things they already know.

Obey the law. No idols. Don’t marry the people you just drove out.

You know, the basics.

If I may, I’d like to take a cue from old Joshua and let you know what the future of this blog will be.

The New “Whole Dang Thing.”

I was wrestling through some tough questions earlier in the summer. The time I took off was much needed and well worth it.

Maybe I had enough time to think. Maybe it was because Rachel Held Evans and I had a nice chat last weekend. Maybe enough people are asking me when I am going to start again, but this blog is back in business! Not, however, without a few minor changes.

  1. I will write when I write. I can’t commit to a regular schedule, so I am going to go at my own pace. I know you aren’t supposed to do that if you want to have a “successful blog” but with the current realities of my life, I just can’t promise any more than that. Which brings me to point two.
  2. I am going to make zero effort to create a “successful blog.” I just don’t have the energy to do all the things the blogging experts want me to. So I am not going to promote it. I am not going to try and comment on a bunch of blogs every day to drive traffic here. I am not going to do x,y, and z. I’m just going to keep studying and sharing what I see. If you want to promote this blog, be my guest.
  3. If you want to write a guest post, let me know. If you want me to write a guest post, feel free to ask. I will feel free to say yes or no depending on my life. Please comment if you want. I will respond.

Points 1 and 2 are the basic things I wanted to share. I don’t want to be a slave to this blog or to you, the readers. I already have a full time job that I love and I don’t need this to become one.

And seriously, who stops two chapters before the end of a book anyway?

5 responses

  1. Glad you’re continuing, and that you’ve found a work/blog balance. I’m sure those of us who read your blog would want you to keep on being good rather than ‘successful’… 🙂

    But if you ever need to stop, just do what you’ve gotta do!

  2. good to have you back!

    dont worry about making this place successful, if you’re sharing Gods Truths without the drive of self gain… He will send those He wants to hear what’s shared! do it for why you began it – to learn about Him!

    looking forward to the next posts! (whenever thy should come!)

  3. Welcome back, Ben. And I’m SO with you. I comment where I love people and their words. I don’t want that to be a way to ‘drive’ readers to me. And I post whenever I can, not a schedule, as such. And I’m glad you’ll be around – whenever you can be. Good on you.

  4. I’d add a more lengthy comment but, I think those who’ve already commented above have said it well. Balance, moderation and priorities!

  5. Awesome! Glad that the blog will be back.

    I think #2 is a great principle. It makes more sense to me to focus on doing what will make the blog and practice of a chapter a day the most life-giving and God-led, rather than focusing on what makes a blog ‘successful’ in the metrics of hits or pageviews. Sermon on the Mount, wassup!

Leave a Reply

