Special Saturday Post! What Should I Preach On?

So I have been given an opportunity to preach at my church on March 25. I have total freedom to speak about whatever I want to.

I think I would like to do something from what I have studied on this blog but I am having a little trouble narrowing it down. I will toss out some of my own ideas but I would also love to hear from you.

What from this blog would you most like to hear a sermon on?

Here are some of my ideas:

  • Deuteronomy 6: Living an undivided life
  • Deuteronomy 6: Tell the Story
  • Numbers 32: The way you live your life matters to others
  • Genesis 12: Blessed to be a blessing
  • Genesis 10: The powers are people
  • Leviticus 4: We all make mistakes

Ok people, let me have it. What should I preach on?*

* I retain the right to NOT actually do any of your ideas. I know what some of you are capable of coming up with!

4 responses

  1. I like the Living and undivided life or Blessed to be a blessing ideas. I am convinved that you don’t study to preach. You study to know God and Christ and let that overflow into what you preach about.

  2. any would be great, I agree with both of the other commenters!
    My vote however is defo about telling the story – like your Sunday series. people need to be encouraged to see the bigger picture, the why’s,more about gods charachter etc…. it has changed my life this last year to ‘see it’ and I think a lot of us are missing that element!
    I agree you dont study to preach you preach what you have studied and lived and been excited about the details of and the heart behind the message – so whatever you chose you will do a great job!

  3. Of those choices I’d probably go with the telling the story. The Big Story of the Bible and the smaller stories of individuals can be powerful ways of communicating what God’s doing in the world…

Leave a comment